Experienced. Reliable. Capable. We Look Out for You.

  • No Hidden Fees Involved
  • No Obligation to Continue Beyond the Case Review
  • Get All Your Legal Questions Answered
click here for a free consultation

Notable Case Results

  • $ $97,284,817

    Class Action
    Mortgage Broker Rest Break
  • $ 8,820,000

    Brain Injury
    Settlement
  • $ 8,250,000

    Wrongful Death/Personal Injury
  • $ 23,500,000

    Bank of America
    Mortgage Broker Wage Class Action

Associations

Results

$ 8,820,000

Brain Injury Settlement

$ 8,250,000

Wrongful Death/Personal Injury

$ 23,500,000

Bank of America Mortgage Broker Wage Class Action

Touch below for a free injury consultation.

click here for a

free consultation

no fees until you get paid

How Does Car Insurance Work in California?

As a driver, you’re likely well aware that you need to carry an insurance policy to legally be on the road. But how does car insurance work in California? Are there certain requirements you must meet? And whose insurance is supposed to pay if another driver injures you in an accident?

The attorneys at Haffner Law want to help you answer these questions and more as you pursue the compensation you deserve for your car crash. To help, we’ve highlighted some information you need to know below.

California Is a ‘Fault’ State

California operates under a “fault” system for auto insurance. Put simply, this means that, in the event of an accident, the at-fault driver or his or her insurance company must cover the damages of any injured drivers.

This is opposed to the system used in many other states, which operate under a “no-fault” system. This system allows car accident victims to file a claim with their own insurers, regardless of whose fault the accident was.

Minimum Policy Requirements for California Auto Insurance

California maintains certain legal requirements you must follow in order to legally operate a vehicle. In California, the only type of policy you are required to carry is liability insurance. However, you must meet certain minimums for different types of incidents.

These minimum policy requirements are as follows:

  • A $5,000 minimum to cover you in the event of property damage
  • A $15,000 minimum to cover you in the event of injury or death to one person
  • A $30,000 minimum to cover you in the event of injury or death to two or more people

Contact a Lawyer

If you are wondering about California’s car insurance rules as you pursue compensation for your car accident, Haffner Law is here for you. Give us a call today at 1-844-HAFFNER (423-3637) or fill out our online contact form below to schedule a consultation with a car accident lawyer.

Click below to share this article: