California has one of the highest numbers of Uber drivers in the country, with a reported 209,000 active drivers per quarter in 2020. Convenient and accessible, ridesharing services have become a popular transportation option for many Californians.
To ensure the safety of passengers, there are many laws that govern Uber drivers and the company itself.
For example, all drivers need to complete a driver safety before they can provide trips through Uber. In California, the vehicles Uber drivers use also need to complete a 19-point vehicle inspection every 12 months or 50,000 miles.
Still, these laws and regulations have many limitations. As such, it’s important for regular Uber riders to practice safety measures when using the service. Below, we share some of our top Uber safety tips to keep in mind.
- Check your driver’s details on the application
Uber displays every driver’s name, picture, and license plate on the app. When getting into your booked ride, confirm that these details match. If there’s any discrepancy, you can cancel the ride.
Checking these details is vital, especially in case of road accidents. If your driver isn’t who they say they are on the app, you may encounter difficulties getting compensation for injuries and other damage if you get involved in a crash.
- Inspect the vehicle
While Uber vehicles need to undergo a thorough inspection every year, automotive malfunctions can still occur in the months between. If your Uber driver doesn’t do regular maintenance for their vehicle, it can be easy to spot the signs.
External damage is the easiest to identify, such as scratches and dents. You never know, but a dent may have done damage to the vehicle’s gears. These can also be indicative of what kind of driver they are.
Once inside the vehicle, if you hear suspicious noises such as constant creaks, it may indicate that there’s something wrong with the car’s engines and parts. If you feel like your safety might be compromised because of these, you can always decide to get out.
- Assess the driver
Apart from confirming the identity of your driver, you should also check the state they are in. You can tell if they’re driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs by smell. They may also appear tired and sleepy with bloodshot eyes.
Any of these situations severely compromises your safety, so it’s better to cancel the ride.
- Put your seatbelt on
Wearing a seatbelt is not only the right thing to do when you’re in an Uber; it’s also the law. According to California’s seatbelt laws and requirements, all car passengers must be secured by a seatbelt, including those in the backseat.
Wearing a seatbelt keeps you from pitching forward and hitting your head in case of a collision.
Get Help from a Personal Injury Attorney
With millions of cars on California roads and highways, the chances of getting into a car accident while you’re in an Uber is something you should seriously consider.
If you get into an accident and sustain injuries while riding an Uber in California, the Uber accident attorneys at Haffner Law are ready to provide legal assistance. We’ll build a strong case backed with evidence so you can get proper compensation.
Speak to an attorney today by calling 1-844-HAFFNER.